A monster Calls by Patrick Ness

monster calls

“The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.”

I read this book on a recommendation, and I have to say that it is one of the most touching and emotional books I have ever read.

It is about a boy called Conor who’s mum is sick with cancer. He’s been having nightmares for ages when a monster comes walking to meet him. However it is not the monster from his dreams. This monster, whilst being not nearly as scary to meet, poses a bigger threat to Conor, as it promises to make him tell a story – the truth, the thing that Conor fears most.

I loved the writing style of this book, the way the author twists and turns taking the book in different directions when you least expect it. Also, the confusion between the real world and the world of dreams makes the book all the more captivating. The ending is brilliant and although I rarely cry at books, my tears were streaming!

I simply can’t express how good this book is. 5/5 rating – loved it, please do read it!

Published by

rolucy

An aspiring cellist, I absolutely adore reading, and even if it means squeezing it into the cracks of my busy life I am still determined to read more! For me, a truly great novel isn't just flashy with a fast paced plot and glossy characters, it is good literature that traps you with every word and entices you to read on. I write quick-to-read book reviews on CreativeThoughtBubble, as well as occasionally publishing short stories of my own.

2 thoughts on “A monster Calls by Patrick Ness”

    1. Yes, it took me two days to read it – I’m on holiday and it was simply too good to put down, definitely a combination that results in a pile of finished books!

      Like

Leave a Reply

