The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

other boleyn girl

“Mary Boleyn catches the eye of Henry VIII when she comes to court as a girl of fourteen. Dazzled by the golden prince, Mary’s joy is cut short when she discovers that she is a pawn in the dynastic plots of her family. When the capricious king’s interest wanes, Mary is ordered to pass on her knowledge of how to please him to her friend and rival: her sister Anne. Anne soon becomes irresistible to Henry, and Mary can do nothing but watch her sister’s rise. Anne stops at nothing to achieve her own ambition. From now on, Mary will be no more than the other Boleyn girl. But beyond the court is a man who dares to challenge the power of her family to offer Mary a life of freedom and passion. If only she has the courage to break away – before the Boleyn enemies turn on her.”

I watched the film version of ‘The Other Boleyn Girl’ several years ago and remember enjoying it a lot. My mum picked this up in a charity shop the other day and I absolutely loved reading it. I haven’t had much time to read for pleasure recently as I’ve been bogged down with schoolwork but once I started this I made time to read!

It is the tale of Anne Boleyn’s younger sister Mary and how she entranced the king before her sister did and went on to have two children by the king before being set aside when the king favored her sister. The story of how Anne Boleyn rose and fell to power through the eyes of her sister was enthralling. It was interesting to see the characters develop over time as the book progressed through many years and it was nice to see Mary finding happiness and love once more. The story was written with such intricacy and there were some little moments now and again that shocked and surprised me.

I enjoyed the way Philippa Gregory has expanded historical facts to make a very convincing and very enjoyable book!

5/5 rating.

Published by

rolucy

An aspiring cellist, I absolutely adore reading, and even if it means squeezing it into the cracks of my busy life I am still determined to read more! For me, a truly great novel isn't just flashy with a fast paced plot and glossy characters, it is good literature that traps you with every word and entices you to read on. I write quick-to-read book reviews on CreativeThoughtBubble, as well as occasionally publishing short stories of my own.

Leave a Reply

