Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant by Veronica Roth

divergenttrilogy

I read the whole Divergent trilogy quite a while ago (before the first movie came out), so by the time I watched insurgent, I had forgotten so much of the book I wasn’t sure if what I was seeing correlated with the book. So naturally I’m working my way through the trio again to refresh my memory.

divergent

“Sixteen-year-old Tris is forced to make a terrible choice. In a divided society where everyone must conform, Tris does not fit.

So she ventures out alone, determined to discover where she truly belongs. Shocked by her brutal new life, Tris can trust no one. And yet she is drawn to a boy who seems to both threaten and protect her.

The hardest choice lies ahead.”

I enjoyed reading Divergent and love the futuristic style. The setting for the novel with the factions and rules was effective as it set the scene for all sorts of possibilities for the author to explore. It was a good coming of age novel as it watched Tris grow up to be more independent, brave and selfless; the traits she needed to get her through the tasks she faced.

I thought the movie followed the book well, and I loved the casting of all the main characters; Eric was cast particularly well and was suitably nasty!

insurgent

“Tris has survived a brutal attack on her former home and family. But she has paid a terrible price. Wracked by grief and guilt, she becomes ever more reckless as she struggles to accept her new future.

Yet if Tris wants to uncover the truth about her world, she must be stronger than ever… because more shocking choices and sacrifices lie ahead.”

Because of the gap between me reading this for the first time and watching the movie, I was particularly confused when I watched the movie. I couldn’t remember exactly, but I was sure something had been changed and I was right. It is an extremely rare occasion that I feel this; but I actually preferred the movie version better than the book.

(Spoiler alert)

It was what happened to Tris when she handed herself over to Erudite that I preferred in the movie. In the book, Jeanine just tests more serums on Tris to try and find one that she can’t resist, performs brain operations on her, and then decides to kill her. It’s only at the very end when Tris and the rebels have fought through Jeanine’s security that Tris finds the message from the founders. However in the movie, Jeanine is rounding up Divergents to try and get them to open the box so that she can see the message inside. I think that this was a better story line as it put much more emphasis on Jeanine’s mistake about Divergence and it meant that movie Tris discovered that she could be brave, selfless, kind, honest and clever.

Nevertheless, I really enjoyed the book and thought it was very cleverly written.

Allegiant_DemiJacket_WetProofTest.indd

“The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice and love.”

I’m partway through re-reading this book, and I have to say that it was my least favourite of the trio. I found it slightly annoying that Tris and Tobias just couldn’t trust each other, but I liked the dual narration with the book told from Tris and Tobias’ points of view. I know there has be a lot of discussion over the ending (don’t worry no spoilers), but I have to say that I thought that the trilogy finished perfectly. I think a softer ending would have been a bit of a let down so I’m glad Roth didn’t hold back at the end!

Overall, I love the trilogy and if you liked things like Hunger games and Maze Runner then I suggest you read these!

4.5/5 rating.

Published by

rolucy

An aspiring cellist, I absolutely adore reading, and even if it means squeezing it into the cracks of my busy life I am still determined to read more! For me, a truly great novel isn't just flashy with a fast paced plot and glossy characters, it is good literature that traps you with every word and entices you to read on. I write quick-to-read book reviews on CreativeThoughtBubble, as well as occasionally publishing short stories of my own.

Leave a Reply

