The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige Mckenzie

hauntingofsunshinegirl

“In that place where you’re more asleep than awake, I hear something. A phrase uttered in a child’s voice, no more than a whisper: night night.”

This was the other book I grabbed from the library last weekend when I was locked out, however this time it wasn’t such a good find.

I found the language choices quite primitive and not very sophisticated so you could definitely class it as ‘young adult’ or even ‘teen’ if you aren’t easily spooked. I’m not normally one for ghost stories or things to make me jump, my life is stressful enough as it is so I don’t need any extra bogey men under the bed thank you very much! However this caught my eye so I thought I’d give it a go.

I need not have worried about getting nightmares however, as the only relatively scary parts happened at the very beginning and for the rest of the book there was just a sense of unease and mystery (there was a certain amount of drama at the end, but I felt it was predictable and a little dull). If I’m honest it was more of a fantasy than a horror book as (SPOILER ALERT) the main character Sunshine (yes that is her name) turns out not to be human and has special powers which she can use to fight bad spirits.

It reminded me of a book I read some years ago called Ethereal which was about a girl who moved house, and found out she wasn’t human and was being chased/hunted/whatever you want by monsters. The Haunting of Sunshine Girl wasn’t exactly what I was expecting at any rate. I can’t say that I hated it (otherwise I would have stopped reading it) but it has little to offer in the way of a fresh and new story line.

The idea for the book was good and it started well, but I think it just became a little too cliche for my liking. I found the book in the young adult section, but I would possibly recommend for some older teens too if you’re into that type of book.

It was an OK read, but I shan’t be reading it again any time soon, or recommending to any of my friends.

2/5 rating.

Published by

rolucy

An aspiring cellist, I absolutely adore reading, and even if it means squeezing it into the cracks of my busy life I am still determined to read more! For me, a truly great novel isn't just flashy with a fast paced plot and glossy characters, it is good literature that traps you with every word and entices you to read on. I write quick-to-read book reviews on CreativeThoughtBubble, as well as occasionally publishing short stories of my own.

Leave a Reply

