And then there were none by Agatha Christie

And-then-There-Were-None

“Ten strangers, apparently with little in Common, are lured to an island mansion off the coast of Devon by the mysterious U.N.Owen. Over dinner, a record begins to play, and the voice of an unseen host accuses each person of hiding a guilty secret. That evening, former reckless driver Tony Marston is found murdered by a deadly dose of cyanide.

The tension escalates as the survivors realise the killer is not only among them but is preparing to strike again… and again…”

Once again I made the mistake of seeing this on TV before reading the book! As it is a mystery it was a shame that I already knew the answer. All that aside, I read this in less than 2 days and loved it.

I’d never read anything by Agatha Christie before (although obviously I’d heard plenty about her and her famous mystery novels). If any of you haven’t had the pleasure of acquainting yourselves with one of her tales, I would urge you to do so.

The language used was easily accessible and I absolutely flew through it. I quite liked the structure of the book; the way it was divided into chapters, but each chapter could have 10 different narrators. It gave the book an urgent feel, as though by flitting from character to character the reader too would feel endangered and wary of attack.

The book was very clever as it didn’t favor any one character as the protagonist as I suppose there is no hero in ‘and then there were none’. I loved the use of the little soldier boy’s poem and the china soldier figures that magically disappeared from the dining room table as it gave a very sinister and creepy atmosphere to the novel.

The ending was completely unpredictable and absolutely brilliant, though not too ridiculous that it was unfeasible.

One mannerism of Christie’s writing was that she kept using colons before speech (e.g. Vera said: “On no”) which I found a little disconcerting at first but then forgot about entirely as I read on.

I’m really glad I read this and I recommend it profusely!

5/5 rating.

Published by

rolucy

An aspiring cellist, I absolutely adore reading, and even if it means squeezing it into the cracks of my busy life I am still determined to read more! For me, a truly great novel isn't just flashy with a fast paced plot and glossy characters, it is good literature that traps you with every word and entices you to read on. I write quick-to-read book reviews on CreativeThoughtBubble, as well as occasionally publishing short stories of my own.

Leave a Reply

